Does The Ball Have To Bounce In Tennis?

Does The Ball Have To Bounce In Tennis

Lets get into details, should tennis ball bounce why and why not.

Does the ball have to bounce in tennis? No, the ball does not have to bounce in regular tennis when you are executing a tennis volley.

However, the ball must bounce if it is the first serve. Also, the ball must bounce if you are playing table tennis or ping pong.

There are several rules of tennis that needs practice to actually master the tennis rules as a player. However, here is a detailed discussion concerning bouncing of a ball in tennis as one of the major rules in tennis.

Tennis Volley Execution Before The Ball Bounce In Tennis

Executing A Tennis Volley

If a tennis volley is being executed, the ball does not have to bounce before being hit. A volley is often executed at very fast speed when a returner meets the ball before it touches the ground and hits the ball back to the server. The high speed at which the tennis ball moves does not give the opponent sufficient time to return the ball.

In fact, with a good shot the served volley should move slightly past the net and in the correct service court of the opponent. Bouncing of the ball in the opponent’s service court without being returned automatically is a win point to the volley server.

Win A Point Volleying

Volley in tennis has high chances of resulting in a win of a point. It is because the person executing a volley stands close to the net and can strike the ball the hardest as if to hit the opponent’s, say stomach. In most cases, the ball can bounces untouched by the opponent who many fail to react on time and return the ball.

Loose A Point Volleying

However, there is also a high risk of fault during a volley. So, if a player executes a tennis volley and then the ball touches any section of the net on the side of that player then it is a fault. The player loses a point to the opponent.

Also, another possible volley fault is when the tennis volley result in the ball not falling into the correct service court of the opponent. You lose the point while the opponent gains the point. Often, tennis volley is executed by pro players.

Tennis Ball Must Bounce Before Returning A Serve

When executing a serve, the ball must bounce first before it can be hit back. Hitting a served tennis ball before it bounces results in a point loss for the opponent and a win of point to the server. As a player, one must be very keen on which ball is being played. You cannot hit a tennis ball being served before it bounces.

Besides, the ball should only bounce once before you hit. If the ball bounces more than once then you loss a point to the server.

In addition, the person serving the ball must assume the correct position such as having his feet behind his or her baseline. Otherwise, if the ball is served at the wrong place it becomes a fault. For the first time serve, the server is warned.

However, if another consecutive fault occurs during a serve the server loses a point to the opponent irrespective of whether or not the ball bounces to the correct side of the opponent and is returned.

Tennis Ball Bounce After Touching The Net In Tennis

Can the ball hit the net in tennis? Yes. A tennis ball hitting the net in tennis can either trigger a fault or not a fault. A ball being served and touches the net is a fault unless it lands on the correct service box of the opponent to become a let serve.

These are examples of common faults at the tennis net:

Tennis ball is hit. The ball touches the net then returns to the person who hit the ball. The person who hit the ball losses a point as the opponent wins a point.

A tennis player during play comes in contact with the net by touching with hands, racket, or anything on his or her body either intentionally or unintentional loses a point.

Let Serve or Net Serve Is Not Fault

What is a let in tennis? A let serve occurs when a player hits the tennis ball that then touches the net but correctly enters the service box of the opponent. Failure of the opponent to return the ball either before or after a bounce is a point loss of the opponent. The person who hit the ball wins a point.

Can You Reach Over The Net In Tennis?

Yes. A possible scenario in which you can reach over the net in tennis is when you go for the ball served by your opponent that is still spinning or perhaps the wind has brought the ball over the net.

In such a case, you can reach over the net, hit the ball back to the opponent’s service court. However, you should not touch the net with your hand, racket or anything on you intentionally or unintentional, that’s a fault that you can lose a point.

Does The Ball Have To Bounce In Table Tennis?

Yes. It is a must for a tennis ball to bounce before being hit back when playing ping pong or table tennis. The tennis ball should bounce once in your service court before you return the ball. If the tennis ball bounces more than once in your service court you lose a point to your opponent.

When hitting back the tennis ball that then hits or touches the net but still bounces to about half of the opponents table, rallying continues. However, if the tennis ball touches the net but does not hit half of the opponent’s table it triggers a fault where you loose and your opponent wins a point.

How Many Times Can The Ball Bounce In Tennis?

Once. All players are given equal chances of a single bounce before returning a serve ball. If a ball bounces twice before being hit back, the person who served wins a point while the opponent who is the returner loses a point as long as the ball went over the net and bounces in the service court.

The ball can still bounce twice on either side of the net and result in a winning point for person who served but the ball bounced in opponent court without being returned. Also, the person serving the ball loses a point if the ball touches the net and bounces back to the server’s court.

Can The Ball Bounce Twice In Tennis?

Yes. The ball can bounce twice when rallying in tennis. Rallying means the back and forth tennis ball shots amongst the players to get a point. A rally is initiated by a serve then a return follows. The served ball must bounce once before returned. Thereafter, during rallying the tennis ball can bounce once in a service court, once anywhere else that is not on the court, and at least twice in a court.

Who Calls A Double Bounce In Tennis?

A double bounce in tennis is called by a tennis player who is responsible to hit that shot. The ball should be on your court side for you to call a double bounce in tennis. So, you lose a point to your opponent for a double bounce during rallying.

Why Do Tennis Players Bounce The Ball Before Serving?

It is common to see tennis players bouncing a ball a couple of times before making actually hitting the ball. Here are some of the reasons tennis players give to justify their actions:

Monitor The Ball

Bouncing the ball before hitting allows a tennis player to have a rough idea of how far, or high the ball can go when hit at certain speed and angle. Ball monitoring sounds more logical for most tennis players.

Assume The Correct Position

Bouncing the ball gives a tennis player an idea of which position to stand including feet position, body angle to assume such as bending, position of the racket, and helps the play have eye focus on the ball. In that manner, the brain can efficiently coordinate all the body parts to initiate the needed serve when the ball is hit.

Adjustment Time

Generally, tennis game is demanding in terms of energy and body movement. Thus, a player can be bouncing a tennis ball before serving as a way of catching their breath. Also, a player can adjust their grip of the racket to be steady enough before hitting.

Maintain Tennis Game “Ritual”

Tennis players see pro players bouncing the ball before serving. So, as a behavioral norm the player does the same. In fact, the behavior has become a routing that most of tennis players find themselves bouncing the ball before serving.

Get Focused

When a player bounces a ball, all concentration goes to the ball. Staying focused allows all the body to respond such that the ball can be efficiently served.


Does the ball have to bounce in tennis? Yes and No, it depends. Yes, if a player is returning a served ball in regular tennis. Also, the ball must bounce before being hit in table tennis. However, No, if you are doing a tennis volley for the normal tennis. If the rules of tennis dictates that a ball should bounce before being hit, better follow or risk loosing a point.

Related Articles

Tennis News Today

Who Has Won All 4 Grand Slams In The Same Year?

Is It Ok To Play Tennis Every Day?

Who Has Won All 4 Grand Slams In The Same Year?

Why Are Tennis Ball Cans Pressurized?

Brett Haber

My goal is simple: to immerse you in the world of tennis like never before. Whether it's analyzing the strategies of top players, delving into the history of the sport, or offering insightful commentary on current events, my words aim to entertain, inform, and ignite your own passion for tennis. Join me on this thrilling journey through the courts, and let's ace this adventure together!

Recent Posts